Culligan US-EZ-4 EZ-Change Level 4 Under-Sink Filter review
Under-sink carbon filter. DIY if you are comfortable with this install. Listed to IAPMO/ANSI 401, IAPMO/ANSI 42, IAPMO/ANSI 53, IAPMO/ANSI 372.
What it removes
| Contaminant | Evidence | Stated reduction | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Turbidity | Certified | not stated | |
| Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) | Certified | not stated | voc surrogate |
| 1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane | Certified | not stated | voc surrogate |
| Chlorine (residual) | Certified | not stated | chloramine |
| Trichloroethylene | Certified | not stated | voc surrogate |
| PFOA | Certified | not stated | |
| Benzene | Certified | not stated | voc surrogate |
| PFOS | Certified | not stated | |
| Total Coliform | Certified | not stated | cyst |
| Total Trihalomethanes | Certified | not stated | voc surrogate |
| Lead | Certified | not stated | |
| Tetrachloroethylene | Certified | not stated | voc surrogate |
| Mercury (inorganic) | Certified | not stated |
Certified is an NSF, WQA, or IAPMO listing for that claim.
Kitchen cold line. Does not soften the house.
Certifications
- IAPMO/ANSI 401: Bisphenol A (listing checked 2026-09-14)
- IAPMO/ANSI 42: Chlorine Taste and Odor Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 42: Chloramine Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 42: Nominal Particulate Reduction, Class I (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: Cyst Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: Lead Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: Mercury Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: MTBE Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: PFOA/PFOS Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: PFOA/PFOS Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: Turbidity Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: VOC Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: VOC Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: VOC Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: VOC Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: VOC Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 53: VOC Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- IAPMO/ANSI 372: (listed, no reduction claim text) (listing checked 2026-09-14)
Twist-off EZ-Change head with dedicated chrome faucet; RC-EZ-4 'Premium' cartridge (0.5 micron nominal, 500 gal / 6 mo, $54.99 on Amazon B000NNPVVW; annual cost est.). Culligan DIY page lists reduction of chlorine taste/odor, chloramine, sediment, lead, cysts, mercury, turbidity, Class I particulate, VOCs, MTBE, PFOA/PFOS and pharmaceuticals and states 'IAPMO R&T Tested and Certified' without naming the standards or giving percentages; the 42/53 standard numbers are from retailer listings, not confirmed on Culligan's page. Does NOT address arsenic, uranium, nitrate or fluoride. Amazon $86.45 (Culligan DIY $97.99).