Epic Pure XP 10-Cup Water Filter Pitcher review
Filter pitcher. DIY. No plumbing. Listed to NSF/ANSI 42.
What it removes
| Contaminant | Evidence | Stated reduction | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chlorine (residual) | Certified | not stated | taste odor |
| Fluoride | Manufacturer-reported | 99.2% | |
| PFOA | Manufacturer-reported | 99.9% | |
| PFOS | Manufacturer-reported | 99.9% | |
| Lead | Manufacturer-reported | 99.9% | |
| Arsenic | Manufacturer-reported | 99.9% |
Certified is an NSF, WQA, or IAPMO listing for that claim.
Drinking water you pour. Not showers, laundry, or hardness.
Certifications
- NSF/ANSI 42: Chlorine Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
- NSF/ANSI 42: Taste and Odor Reduction (from the manufacturer's page, not yet checked against the certifier's database)
Tritan 10-cup pitcher with the US-made Pure XP solid-carbon-block cartridge (100 gal, 3-4 months typical; Epic's older Pure filter was rated 150 gal and the Amazon listing title still says 150 gal). Replacement Pure XP filter $59 (annual cost est. at 4 filters/yr; ~$177 if it lasts 4 months). Certification: Epic states the filter is NSF certified only to NSF/ANSI 42 and 372; the 53, 401 and P231 results (lead, fluoride, PFAS, arsenic, bacteria) are 'independently tested', not certified, so they appear here as manufacturer claims. nsf.py 'Epic' returned no NSF listing, so even the 42 claim is manufacturer-stated. One of the few pitchers claiming fluoride and arsenic reduction (arsenic species not specified); NO uranium or nitrate claim. Original Pure listing B015N617CK is unavailable; the Navy Blue XP listing B0851VLWMX is $84 (Epic $89).