Tap and WellTreasure Valley water, from the public record

Epic Smart Shield Inline Under-Sink Filter review

Under-sink carbon filter. DIY if you are comfortable with this install. Listed to IAPMO/ANSI 42, IAPMO/ANSI 401.

What it removes

ContaminantEvidenceStated reductionScope
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)Certifiednot statedvoc surrogate
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropaneCertifiednot statedvoc surrogate
TetrachloroethyleneCertifiednot statedvoc surrogate
AsbestosCertifiednot stated
TrichloroethyleneCertifiednot statedvoc surrogate
Chlorine (residual)Certifiednot statedtaste odor
BenzeneCertifiednot statedvoc surrogate
Total ColiformCertifiednot statedcyst
Total TrihalomethanesCertifiednot statedvoc surrogate
LeadCertifiednot stated
AtrazineCertifiednot stated
PFOAManufacturer-reported94%
PFOSManufacturer-reported94%

Certified is an NSF, WQA, or IAPMO listing for that claim.

Kitchen cold line. Does not soften the house.

Certifications

  • IAPMO/ANSI 42: Chloramine (listing checked 2026-09-14)
  • IAPMO/ANSI 42: Chlorine (listing checked 2026-09-14)
  • IAPMO/ANSI 42: Taste and Odor (listing checked 2026-09-14)
  • IAPMO/ANSI 42: Particulate Class I (listing checked 2026-09-14)
  • IAPMO/ANSI 401: Bisphenol A (listing checked 2026-09-14)

Single solid coconut-carbon block cartridge, inline on the cold line to the existing faucet (a dedicated-faucet kit B07DVWV3WG and a 750-gal Smart Shield MAX B0F3386QLY also exist). 651 gal rated; Epic says 12 months for a 2-person household (9-16 months by use). Replacement cartridge $115 (annual cost est.). 'Certified to NSF/ANSI Standards 42, 53, and 401 by IAPMO' per Epic; not in NSF database. Flow rate not published. PFAS figure is Epic's aggregate 94% PFAS claim. Does NOT address arsenic, uranium, nitrate or fluoride (none listed). Amazon $135 (Epic $129).