GE GXSH45V 45,100 Grain Water Softener review
Salt-based water softener. Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with this install. Skill and code, not a preference. Listed to NSF/ANSI 44.
What it removes
| Contaminant | Evidence | Stated reduction | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hardness (as CaCO3) | Certified | not stated | |
| Radium 226 + 228 | Certified | not stated | |
| Barium | Certified | not stated | |
| Iron | Manufacturer-reported | not stated | clear water ferrous up to 10 ppm |
Certified is an NSF, WQA, or IAPMO listing for that claim. Manufacturer-reported reduction for iron. Not NSF-certified for iron.
Whole-house hardness at 7 gpg or more. Does not remove arsenic, nitrate, or fluoride.
Certifications
- NSF/ANSI 44: Barium Reduction (listing checked 2026-09-14)
- NSF/ANSI 44: Efficiency Rated (listing checked 2026-09-14)
- NSF/ANSI 44: Hardness Reduction (listing checked 2026-09-14)
- NSF/ANSI 44: Radium 226/228 Reduction (listing checked 2026-09-14)
45k capacity suits 4-6 people at 15-20 gpg well water or a large family on city water. Rated to 160 gpg hardness and 10 ppm iron per GE spec. NSF 44 listing also covers Barium Reduction and Radium 226/228 Reduction, which matters for Treasure Valley wells with elevated radium or barium; only a few softeners carry those claims.
GE spec (per GE product listing): service flow 9.5 gpm at 15 psi drop, max hardness removal 160 gpg, max iron 10 ppm, 230 lb salt storage, Custom Select blending valve, uses up to 34% less salt / 35% less water. GE's site marks this model as no longer being manufactured (sale price $586.30, list $799.00) and the Amazon listing showed Currently unavailable on 2026-09-14; the WiFi successor GXSH45W (ASIN B0FWTR8SS9, $799) is NOT yet in the NSF 44 listing so it is not substituted here. annual_replacement_cost is est. salt only. Price recorded is GE's current price.