Tap and WellTreasure Valley water, from the public record

Purple Sage Community water quality

2 contaminants above a federal limit. hardness not in the latest CCR.

ID3140091. Data through 2026-01-06. DEQ record.

What's in it

Nitrate (as N)

Above limit
10.10ppm of 10.00ppm federal limit

EPA: infants below the age of six months who drink water containing nitrate in excess of the MCL could become seriously ill and, if untreated, may die.

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.

Arsenic

Above limit
10.1ppb of 10.0ppb federal limit

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.

Uranium

Elevated
19.0ppb of 30.0ppb federal limit

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum: manufacturer-reported, not certified.

3 other contaminants tested, not detected or well below the limit

Copper 1.25ppm Gross Alpha 13.0pCi/L Lead 7.0ppb

Filters that match

Start with this

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

under sink ro · diy

  • Arsenicremoves it, NSF or WQA certified
  • Nitrate (as N)removes it, NSF or WQA certified
  • Uraniumremoves it, per manufacturer testing
Detections ranked by share of the limitevery Tier 1 detection, highest first
10.10ppm of 10.00ppm
1.0x
Above limit
10.1ppb of 10.0ppb
lab result 12.0ppb
1.0x
Above limit avg
19.0ppb of 30.0ppb
63%
Elevated avg
Lead 90th pct
2.0ppb of 15.0ppb
lab result 7.0ppb
13%
Detected 90th pct
Copper 90th pct
0.06ppm of 1.30ppm
lab result 1.25ppm
5%
Detected 90th pct
0.27pCi/L of 15.0pCi/L
lab result 13.0pCi/L, uranium-adjusted
2%
Detected avg

Bar length is the highest result in the last 36 months as a share of the federal limit (MCL, or action level for lead and copper). The dark tick marks the limit. Gross alpha is compared after subtracting uranium, as DEQ does for compliance.

Full contaminants reporthighest, latest, limit, trend, last sample
ContaminantHighest, 36 moFederal limitShare of limitStatusTrendLast sample
Arsenic12.0ppb
latest ND
10.0ppb MCL1.0xAbove limit2025-11-05
Copper
90th percentile at home taps
note
1.25ppm
latest 0.06ppm
1.30ppm AL5%Detected2026-09-14
Gross Alphanote13.0pCi/L15.0pCi/L MCL2%Detected2024-02-06
Lead
90th percentile at home taps
note
7.0ppb
latest 2.0ppb
15.0ppb AL13%Detected2026-09-14
Nitrate (as N)10.10ppm
latest 8.40ppm
10.00ppm MCL1.0xAbove limit2026-01-06
Uranium19.0ppb30.0ppb MCL63%Elevated2024-02-06
  • Copper: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.
  • Gross Alpha: Compliance uses the running average of gross alpha minus uranium. Shown value is the highest lab result; the adjusted average is 0.27 pCi/L after subtracting 12.73 pCi/L for uranium.
  • Lead: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.

ppb = parts per billion (µg/L), ppm = parts per million (mg/L), ppt = parts per trillion. ND = not detected above the lab's reporting limit. MCL = federal maximum contaminant level; AL = action level for lead and copper (90th percentile of home taps); aesthetic = secondary standard for taste, odor or staining, not health. Bars show the highest result in 36 months as a share of the limit.

6 other regulated contaminants tested
Contaminant36 mo maxLimitStatusLast sample
AtrazineND3.0ppbNot detected2024-02-06
BenzeneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-02-06
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropaneND0.2ppbNot detected2024-02-06
TetrachloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-02-06
Sodium102.00ppmnoneDetected2024-02-06
TrichloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-02-06

Hardness

Hardness is not reported in the latest CCR. Hardness not reported for this system; softener sizing uses a regional default of 11.7 gpg until a CCR value is reviewed.

Track record17 violations on record, 1 health-based
2017
2018
2019
11 2020
2021
2 2022
3 2023
2024
2025
2026

no violation recorded n monitoring or reporting only n includes a health-based violation ? outside the loaded record

Health-based violations

PeriodWhat happenedContaminantRuleStatus
2023-01-01 to 2023-03-31Maximum contaminant level exceeded (Average MCL exceeded)Nitrate (as N)Nitratesresolved 2024-03-06
Monitoring and reporting violations (16)

A required sample or report was late or missing. These do not mean a contaminant was found, but a system that skips monitoring has gaps in its record.

YearRuleCountDetail
2023Radionuclides2Routine monitoring, major · Radium 226 + 228
2022Revised Total Coliform Rule2Monitoring, routine (RTCR)
2020Nitrates1Routine monitoring, major · Nitrite (as N)
2020Inorganic Chemicals10Routine monitoring, major · Antimony, Barium, Beryllium, Cadmium, Chromium (total), Fluoride, Mercury (inorganic), Selenium, Thallium
2016Nitrates1Routine monitoring, major · Nitrate (as N)
Lead and copper at the tap90th percentile of sampled homes against the action level
Lead at customer taps
2.0ppb 90th percentile · action level 15.0ppb
13%
Detected 5 homes sampled, 2026-07-01 to 2026-12-31
semiannual 90th percentiles

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Copper at customer taps
0.06ppm 90th percentile · action level 1.30ppm
5%
Detected 5 homes sampled, 2026-07-01 to 2026-12-31
semiannual 90th percentiles

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Where the water comes from1 active wells

1 active well, and 0 treatment points on record (SDWIS counts each chlorination or filtration point as a treatment plant).

Source names (1)

WELL #2

Every match, by categorytop three per category

We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. Rankings come from the matching engine (certification + flagged contaminants + annual cost), not from who pays more. How we earn money. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are not shown; Amazon sets them on its site.

Drinking water

Under sink, pitcher, or faucet. Treats the water you drink and cook with.

Ranked first for this water under sink ro · DIY

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

Certified for arsenic, nitrate, and lead (NSF/ANSI 58, pentavalent); manufacturer-reported for uranium and gross alpha.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Nitrate (as N), Lead
Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedUranium, Gross Alpha
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

Express Water RO5DX 5-Stage Reverse Osmosis System (50 GPD)

Manufacturer-reported reduction for arsenic, nitrate, and uranium. Not NSF-certified for arsenic, nitrate, and uranium.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedArsenic, Uranium, Nitrate (as N), Lead
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

APEC ROES-50 Essence 5-Stage Reverse Osmosis

Manufacturer-reported reduction for arsenic, nitrate, and uranium. Not NSF-certified for arsenic, nitrate, and uranium.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedArsenic, Uranium, Nitrate (as N), Lead and 2 more

Whole house

Installed where water enters the house. For fixtures, laundry and showers.

Softener or conditioner

Worth it at 7 grains per gallon or more.

Questions about Purple Sage Community

Is Purple Sage Community tap water safe to drink?

In the last 36 months at least one result for Purple Sage Community was above a federal limit: Arsenic and Nitrate (as N). A single high sample is not always a violation because compliance is often judged on a running average; the violations section shows what EPA recorded. Results reflect the system's sampling points, not the plumbing in any one home.

Is Purple Sage Community water hard?

Hardness has not been reported for Purple Sage Community in a reviewed Consumer Confidence Report yet. The softener sizing widget uses a labelled county default until a report is reviewed.

Is Purple Sage Community water fluoridated?

No fluoride result in the last 36 months.

Where does Purple Sage Community water come from?

Purple Sage Community draws from 1 active well. Source and treatment details are listed above.

What filter fits Purple Sage Community water?

For drinking water the matching engine ranks Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum first for this profile, based on certified reduction claims for the contaminants flagged above. See the filters section for the reasoning and alternatives.

What was above the limit in Purple Sage Community water?

Arsenic and Nitrate (as N). Compare the value with the limit in the ranked chart and the full report above, and check the violations section for whether EPA recorded a violation.

Who to call

  • System contact: MCCONNELL, AMY, 408-412-0935
  • DEQ Boise Regional Office, 1445 N Orchard St, Boise ID 83706, (208) 373-0550
  • Southwest District Health (well testing, septic, local health questions)

Sources

Sample results as of 2026-01-06; inventory and violations from EPA SDWIS; page built 2026-09-14. 82 individual results reviewed.

More: Canyon County, Arsenic, Uranium, Nitrate (as N)

Numbers are the system's samples at its taps and wells, not yours. Lead and copper are 90th percentiles from sampled homes. Well pages are nearby-sample estimates. Health text restates EPA and DEQ. Methodology.