D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes water quality
1 contaminant above a federal limit. hardness not in the latest CCR.
ID3140092. Data through 2026-07-21. DEQ record.
What's in it
Nitrate (as N)
Above limitEPA: infants below the age of six months who drink water containing nitrate in excess of the MCL could become seriously ill and, if untreated, may die.
Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.
Uranium
ElevatedAquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum: manufacturer-reported, not certified.
6 other contaminants tested, not detected or well below the limit
Arsenic ND Fluoride 0.67ppm Gross Alpha ND HFPO-DA (GenX) ND PFHxS ND Radium 226 + 228 0.48pCi/L
Filters that match
Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum
under sink ro · diy
- Nitrate (as N)removes it, NSF or WQA certified
- Uraniumremoves it, per manufacturer testing
Detections ranked by share of the limitevery Tier 1 detection, highest first
Bar length is the highest result in the last 36 months as a share of the federal limit (MCL, or action level for lead and copper). The dark tick marks the limit. Gross alpha is compared after subtracting uranium, as DEQ does for compliance.
Full contaminants reporthighest, latest, limit, trend, last sample
| Contaminant | Highest, 36 mo | Federal limit | Share of limit | Status | Trend | Last sample |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arsenic | ND | 10.0ppb MCL | Not detected | 2025-12-09 | ||
| Fluoride | 0.67ppm latest 0.40ppm | 4.00ppm MCL | Detected | 2026-02-03 | ||
| Gross Alphanote | 9.24pCi/L latest ND | 15.0pCi/L MCL | Not detected | 2025-05-02 | ||
| HFPO-DA (GenX) | ND | 10.0ppt MCL | Not detected | 2026-04-17 | ||
| Nitrate (as N) | 12.00ppm latest 9.54ppm | 10.00ppm MCL | Above limit | 2026-07-21 | ||
| PFHxS | ND | 10.0ppt MCL | Not detected | 2026-04-17 | ||
| Radium 226 + 228 | 0.48pCi/L | 5.00pCi/L MCL | Detected | 2025-05-02 | ||
| Uranium | 15.0ppb | 30.0ppb MCL | Elevated | 2025-05-02 |
- Gross Alpha: Compliance uses the running average of gross alpha minus uranium. Shown value is the highest lab result; the adjusted average is 0.0 pCi/L after subtracting 10.05 pCi/L for uranium.
ppb = parts per billion (µg/L), ppm = parts per million (mg/L), ppt = parts per trillion. ND = not detected above the lab's reporting limit. MCL = federal maximum contaminant level; AL = action level for lead and copper (90th percentile of home taps); aesthetic = secondary standard for taste, odor or staining, not health. Bars show the highest result in 36 months as a share of the limit.
15 other regulated contaminants tested
| Contaminant | 36 mo max | Limit | Status | Last sample |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Antimony | 0.1ppb | 6.0ppb | Detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Atrazine | ND | 3.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Barium | 0.04ppm | 2.00ppm | Detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Benzene | ND | 5.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-02-03 |
| Beryllium | ND | 4.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Cadmium | ND | 5.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Chromium (total) | 0.00ppm | 0.10ppm | Detected | 2026-06-09 |
| 1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane | ND | 0.2ppb | Not detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Mercury (inorganic) | ND | 2.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Nitrite (as N) | ND | 1.00ppm | Not detected | 2026-07-21 |
| Tetrachloroethylene | ND | 5.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-02-03 |
| Selenium | 0.2ppb | 50.0ppb | Detected | 2026-06-09 |
| Sodium | 60.00ppm | none | Detected | 2026-02-03 |
| Trichloroethylene | ND | 5.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-02-03 |
| Thallium | ND | 2.0ppb | Not detected | 2026-06-09 |
Hardness
Hardness is not reported in the latest CCR. Hardness not reported for this system; softener sizing uses a regional default of 11.7 gpg until a CCR value is reviewed.
Track record2 violations on record, 0 health-based
✓ no violation recorded n monitoring or reporting only n includes a health-based violation ? outside the loaded record
No health-based violations (MCL, treatment technique, or disinfectant level) in the last ten years.
Monitoring and reporting violations (2)
A required sample or report was late or missing. These do not mean a contaminant was found, but a system that skips monitoring has gaps in its record.
| Year | Rule | Count | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Lead and Copper Rule Revisions | 1 (1 open) | |
| 2018 | Revised Total Coliform Rule | 1 | Monitoring, routine (RTCR) |
Lead and copper at the tap90th percentile of sampled homes against the action level
No lead and copper tap sampling summary in the window we reviewed.
Where the water comes from2 active wells
2 active wells, and 23 treatment points on record (SDWIS counts each chlorination or filtration point as a treatment plant).
WELL 2: Susceptibility: ioc high (auto), voc moderate, soc high, microbial high (auto).
Source water assessment susceptibility: final map[IOC:Auto High Microbials:Auto High SOC:High VOC:Moderate]; hydrologic sensitivity H; pci land use map[IOC:M Microbials:M SOC:M VOC:M]; system construction M;
Source names (2)
WELL #1-MAIN, WELL 2
Every match, by categorytop three per category
We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. Rankings come from the matching engine (certification + flagged contaminants + annual cost), not from who pays more. How we earn money. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are not shown; Amazon sets them on its site.
Drinking water
Under sink, pitcher, or faucet. Treats the water you drink and cook with.
Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum
Certified for nitrate and fluoride (NSF/ANSI 58); manufacturer-reported for uranium and radium 226 + 228.
Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.
Express Water RO5DX 5-Stage Reverse Osmosis System (50 GPD)
Manufacturer-reported reduction for nitrate, uranium, and fluoride. Not NSF-certified for nitrate, uranium, and fluoride.
Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.
APEC ROES-50 Essence 5-Stage Reverse Osmosis
Manufacturer-reported reduction for nitrate, uranium, and fluoride. Not NSF-certified for nitrate, uranium, and fluoride.
Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.
Whole house
Installed where water enters the house. For fixtures, laundry and showers.
Sprite High Output 2 Universal Shower Filter with 3-Setting Shower Head (HO2-WH-M)
Does not address nitrate and uranium.
DIY. No plumbing.
Culligan WSH-C125 Wall-Mount Shower Filter
Does not address nitrate and uranium.
DIY. No plumbing.
Culligan ISH-100 Inline Shower Filter
Does not address nitrate and uranium.
DIY. No plumbing.
Softener or conditioner
Worth it at 7 grains per gallon or more.
Whirlpool WHES40E 40,000 Grain Water Softener
Certified for radium 226 + 228 and barium (NSF/ANSI 44). Does not address nitrate and uranium.
DIY if you are comfortable with this install.
Aquasure Serene Lite 650K Salt-Free Water Conditioner with Triple Purpose Pre-Filter
Does not address nitrate and uranium.
Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with this install.
Whirlpool WHES30E 30,000 Grain Water Softener
Does not address nitrate and uranium.
DIY if you are comfortable with this install.
Questions about D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes
Is D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes tap water safe to drink?
In the last 36 months at least one result for D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes was above a federal limit: Nitrate (as N). A single high sample is not always a violation because compliance is often judged on a running average; the violations section shows what EPA recorded. Results reflect the system's sampling points, not the plumbing in any one home.
Is D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes water hard?
Hardness has not been reported for D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes in a reviewed Consumer Confidence Report yet. The softener sizing widget uses a labelled county default until a report is reviewed.
Is D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes water fluoridated?
Fluoride was measured at up to 0.67 mg/L in the last 36 months, in the range used for community fluoridation (0.7 mg/L). The federal limit (MCL) is 4 mg/L. Reverse osmosis is an optional preference if you want less fluoride.
Where does D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes water come from?
D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes draws from 2 active wells with 23 treatment plants on record. Source and treatment details are listed above.
What filter fits D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes water?
For drinking water the matching engine ranks Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum first for this profile, based on certified reduction claims for the contaminants flagged above. See the filters section for the reasoning and alternatives.
What was above the limit in D and S Purple Sage Ranchettes water?
Nitrate (as N). Compare the value with the limit in the ranked chart and the full report above, and check the violations section for whether EPA recorded a violation.
Who to call
- System contact: GRANDEN, ROB, 208-941-3913
- DEQ Boise Regional Office, 1445 N Orchard St, Boise ID 83706, (208) 373-0550
- Southwest District Health (well testing, septic, local health questions)
Sources
Sample results as of 2026-07-21; inventory and violations from EPA SDWIS; page built 2026-09-14. 87 individual results reviewed.
More: Canyon County, Uranium, Nitrate (as N)
Numbers are the system's samples at its taps and wells, not yours. Lead and copper are 90th percentiles from sampled homes. Well pages are nearby-sample estimates. Health text restates EPA and DEQ. Methodology.