Tap and WellTreasure Valley water, from the public record

Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. water quality

Met every federal limit. 1 contaminant at half a limit or higher. hardness not in the latest CCR.

ID4010092. Data through 2026-02-26. DEQ record.

What's in it

Arsenic

Elevated
3.6ppb of 10.0ppb federal limit

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.

4 other contaminants tested, not detected or well below the limit

Gross Alpha 3.66pCi/L Nitrate (as N) 3.90ppm Radium 226 + 228 ND Uranium 2.0ppb

Filters that match

Start with this

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

under sink ro · diy

  • Arsenicremoves it, NSF or WQA certified
Whole house

Nothing in this water calls for whole-house treatment. A drinking-water filter covers the exposure that matters. Whole-house units here are optional, mainly for taste and chlorine.

Detections ranked by share of the limitevery Tier 1 detection, highest first
3.90ppm of 10.00ppm
39%
Detected
3.6ppb of 10.0ppb
36%
Elevated avg
2.32pCi/L of 15.0pCi/L
lab result 3.66pCi/L, uranium-adjusted
15%
Detected avg
2.0ppb of 30.0ppb
7%
Detected avg

Bar length is the highest result in the last 36 months as a share of the federal limit (MCL, or action level for lead and copper). The dark tick marks the limit. Gross alpha is compared after subtracting uranium, as DEQ does for compliance.

Full contaminants reporthighest, latest, limit, trend, last sample
ContaminantHighest, 36 moFederal limitShare of limitStatusTrendLast sample
Arsenic3.6ppb10.0ppb MCL36%Elevated2025-06-26
Gross Alphanote3.66pCi/L15.0pCi/L MCL15%Detected2025-06-26
Nitrate (as N)3.90ppm10.00ppm MCL39%Detected2026-02-26
Radium 226 + 228ND5.00pCi/L MCLNDNot detected2025-06-26
Uranium2.0ppb30.0ppb MCL7%Detected2025-06-26
  • Gross Alpha: Compliance uses the running average of gross alpha minus uranium. Shown value is the highest lab result; the adjusted average is 2.32 pCi/L after subtracting 1.34 pCi/L for uranium.

ppb = parts per billion (µg/L), ppm = parts per million (mg/L), ppt = parts per trillion. ND = not detected above the lab's reporting limit. MCL = federal maximum contaminant level; AL = action level for lead and copper (90th percentile of home taps); aesthetic = secondary standard for taste, odor or staining, not health. Bars show the highest result in 36 months as a share of the limit.

6 other regulated contaminants tested
Contaminant36 mo maxLimitStatusLast sample
AtrazineND3.0ppbNot detected2025-06-26
BenzeneND5.0ppbNot detected2025-06-26
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropaneND0.2ppbNot detected2025-06-26
TetrachloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2025-06-26
Sodium45.50ppmnoneDetected2025-06-26
TrichloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2025-06-26

Hardness

Hardness is not reported in the latest CCR. Hardness not reported for this system; softener sizing uses a regional default of 11.7 gpg until a CCR value is reviewed.

Track recordno violations in the last ten years
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026

no violation recorded n monitoring or reporting only n includes a health-based violation ? outside the loaded record

Lead and copper at the tap90th percentile of sampled homes against the action level

No lead and copper tap sampling summary in the window we reviewed.

Where the water comes from1 active wells

1 active well, and 0 treatment points on record (SDWIS counts each chlorination or filtration point as a treatment plant).

WELL #1: Susceptibility: ioc high, voc high, soc high, microbial high.

Source water assessment susceptibility: final map[IOC:H Microbials:H SOC:H VOC:H]; hydrologic sensitivity H; pci land use map[IOC:M Microbials:M SOC:M VOC:M]; system construction M;

Source names (1)

WELL #1

Every match, by categorytop three per category

We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. Rankings come from the matching engine (certification + flagged contaminants + annual cost), not from who pays more. How we earn money. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are not shown; Amazon sets them on its site.

Drinking water

Under sink, pitcher, or faucet. Treats the water you drink and cook with.

Ranked first for this water under sink ro · DIY

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

Certified for arsenic and nitrate (NSF/ANSI 58, pentavalent); manufacturer-reported for uranium and gross alpha.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Nitrate (as N)
Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedUranium, Gross Alpha
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

APEC ROES-50 Essence 5-Stage Reverse Osmosis

Manufacturer-reported reduction for arsenic, uranium, and nitrate. Not NSF-certified for arsenic, uranium, and nitrate.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedArsenic, Uranium, Nitrate (as N), Gross Alpha and 1 more
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

iSpring RCC7AK 6-Stage Alkaline Reverse Osmosis

Manufacturer-reported reduction for arsenic, uranium, and nitrate. Not NSF-certified for arsenic, uranium, and nitrate.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedArsenic, Uranium, Nitrate (as N), Gross Alpha

Whole house

Installed where water enters the house. For fixtures, laundry and showers.

Nothing in this water calls for whole-house treatment. A drinking-water filter covers the exposure that matters. Whole-house units here are optional, mainly for taste and chlorine.

Softener or conditioner

Worth it at 7 grains per gallon or more.

Questions about Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc.

Is Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. tap water safe to drink?

Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. met every federal limit in the last 36 months, with no open health-based violation. 1 contaminant was at half the limit or higher: Arsenic. The results table shows each value against its limit. Results reflect the system's sampling points, not the plumbing in any one home.

Is Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. water hard?

Hardness has not been reported for Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. in a reviewed Consumer Confidence Report yet. The softener sizing widget uses a labelled county default until a report is reviewed.

Is Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. water fluoridated?

No fluoride result in the last 36 months.

Where does Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. water come from?

Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. draws from 1 active well. Source and treatment details are listed above.

What filter fits Malad and Hilton Water Company Inc. water?

For drinking water the matching engine ranks Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum first for this profile, based on certified reduction claims for the contaminants flagged above. See the filters section for the reasoning and alternatives.

Who to call

  • System contact: FRITON, JEREMY, 208-440-6277
  • DEQ Boise Regional Office, 1445 N Orchard St, Boise ID 83706, (208) 373-0550
  • Central District Health (well testing, septic, local health questions)

Sources

Sample results as of 2026-02-26; inventory and violations from EPA SDWIS; page built 2026-09-14. 15 individual results reviewed.

More: Ada County, Arsenic

Numbers are the system's samples at its taps and wells, not yours. Lead and copper are 90th percentiles from sampled homes. Well pages are nearby-sample estimates. Health text restates EPA and DEQ. Methodology.