Tap and WellTreasure Valley water, from the public record

Star Sewer and Water District Water System water quality

Met every federal limit. 1 contaminant at half a limit or higher. hardness not in the latest CCR.

ID4010220. Data through 2026-09-08. DEQ record.

What's in it

Arsenic

Elevated
3.2ppb of 10.0ppb federal limit

Brondell Circle RC100 Reverse Osmosis System is certified to reduce it.

17 other contaminants tested, not detected or well below the limit

Copper 0.07ppm Fluoride 0.35ppm Gross Alpha ND Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) ND HFPO-DA (GenX) ND Iron 0.10ppm Lead 1.0ppb Manganese 31.0ppb Nitrate (as N) ND PFBS ND PFHxS ND PFNA ND PFOA ND PFOS ND Radium 226 + 228 ND Total Trihalomethanes ND Uranium ND

Filters that match

Start with this

Brondell Circle RC100 Reverse Osmosis System

under sink ro · diy

  • Arsenicremoves it, NSF or WQA certified
Whole house

Nothing in this water calls for whole-house treatment. A drinking-water filter covers the exposure that matters. Whole-house units here are optional, mainly for taste and chlorine.

Detections ranked by share of the limitevery Tier 1 detection, highest first
3.2ppb of 10.0ppb
lab result 3.6ppb
32%
Elevated avg
1.50ppm of 10.00ppm
15%
Detected
0.35ppm of 4.00ppm
9%
Detected avg
Lead 90th pct
1.0ppb of 15.0ppb
7%
Detected 90th pct
Copper 90th pct
0.03ppm of 1.30ppm
lab result 0.07ppm
2%
Detected 90th pct

Bar length is the highest result in the last 36 months as a share of the federal limit (MCL, or action level for lead and copper). The dark tick marks the limit. Gross alpha is compared after subtracting uranium, as DEQ does for compliance.

Aesthetic and unregulated

Taste, odor, staining or scale, not health limits. Bars use the EPA secondary standard where one exists.

31.0ppb of 50.0ppb
62%
Detected
0.10ppm of 0.30ppm
33%
Detected
Full contaminants reporthighest, latest, limit, trend, last sample
ContaminantHighest, 36 moFederal limitShare of limitStatusTrendLast sample
Arsenic3.6ppb10.0ppb MCL32%Elevated2025-08-07
Copper
90th percentile at home taps
note
0.07ppm
latest 0.03ppm
1.30ppm AL2%Detected2025-12-31
Fluoride0.35ppm4.00ppm MCL9%Detected2025-08-07
Gross AlphaND15.0pCi/L MCLNDNot detected2025-06-11
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)ND60.0ppb MCLNDNot detected2026-07-15
HFPO-DA (GenX)ND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2026-05-05 EPA study
Iron0.10ppm0.30ppm aesthetic33%Detected2023-12-06
Lead
90th percentile at home taps
note
1.0ppb15.0ppb AL7%Detected2025-12-31
Manganese31.0ppb50.0ppb aesthetic62%Detected2023-12-06
Nitrate (as N)1.50ppm
latest ND
10.00ppm MCL15%Detected2026-09-08
PFBSNDnoneNDNot detected2024-12-09 EPA study
PFHxSND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2026-05-05 EPA study
PFNAND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2024-12-09 EPA study
PFOAND4.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2024-12-09 EPA study
PFOSND4.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2024-12-09 EPA study
Radium 226 + 228ND5.00pCi/L MCLNDNot detected2025-06-11
Total TrihalomethanesND80.0ppb MCLNDNot detected2026-07-15
UraniumND30.0ppb MCLNDNot detected2025-06-11
  • Copper: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.
  • Lead: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.

ppb = parts per billion (µg/L), ppm = parts per million (mg/L), ppt = parts per trillion. ND = not detected above the lab's reporting limit. MCL = federal maximum contaminant level; AL = action level for lead and copper (90th percentile of home taps); aesthetic = secondary standard for taste, odor or staining, not health. Bars show the highest result in 36 months as a share of the limit.

15 other regulated contaminants tested
Contaminant36 mo maxLimitStatusLast sample
AntimonyND6.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
AtrazineND3.0ppbNot detected2025-12-11
Barium0.05ppm2.00ppmDetected2025-08-07
BenzeneND5.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
BerylliumND4.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
CadmiumND5.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
Chromium (total)ND0.10ppmNot detected2025-08-07
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropaneND0.2ppbNot detected2025-12-11
Lithium20.0ppbnoneDetected2024-12-09
Mercury (inorganic)ND2.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
TetrachloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
SeleniumND50.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
Sodium27.50ppmnoneDetected2025-08-07
TrichloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07
ThalliumND2.0ppbNot detected2025-08-07

Hardness

Hardness is not reported in the latest CCR. Hardness not reported for this system; softener sizing uses a regional default of 11.7 gpg until a CCR value is reviewed.

See also Star water hardness.

Track record2 violations on record, 0 health-based
2017
2018
1 2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
1 2024
2025
2026

no violation recorded n monitoring or reporting only n includes a health-based violation ? outside the loaded record

No health-based violations (MCL, treatment technique, or disinfectant level) in the last ten years.

Monitoring and reporting violations (2)

A required sample or report was late or missing. These do not mean a contaminant was found, but a system that skips monitoring has gaps in its record.

YearRuleCountDetail
2024Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule1Monitoring and reporting (DBP) · Chlorine (residual)
2019Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule1Monitoring and reporting (DBP) · Chlorine (residual)
Lead and copper at the tap90th percentile of sampled homes against the action level
Lead at customer taps
1.0ppb 90th percentile · action level 15.0ppb
7%
Detected 30 homes sampled, 2023-01-01 to 2025-12-31
semiannual 90th percentiles

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Copper at customer taps
0.03ppm 90th percentile · action level 1.30ppm
2%
Detected 30 homes sampled, 2023-01-01 to 2025-12-31
semiannual 90th percentiles

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Where the water comes from4 active wells

4 active wells, and 3 treatment points on record (SDWIS counts each chlorination or filtration point as a treatment plant).

WELL #4 (TRELLIS #1): Susceptibility: ioc high (auto), voc low, soc high (auto), microbial low.

Source water assessment susceptibility: final map[IOC:Auto High Microbials:Low SOC:Auto High VOC:Low]; hydrologic sensitivity M; pci land use map[IOC:M Microbials:M SOC:M VOC:M]; system construction L;

Source names (4)

WELL #1, WELL #4 (TRELLIS #1), WELL #6, WELL #7

Every match, by categorytop three per category

We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. Rankings come from the matching engine (certification + flagged contaminants + annual cost), not from who pays more. How we earn money. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are not shown; Amazon sets them on its site.

Drinking water

Under sink, pitcher, or faucet. Treats the water you drink and cook with.

Ranked first for this water under sink ro · DIY

Brondell Circle RC100 Reverse Osmosis System

Certified for arsenic, fluoride, and barium (NSF/ANSI 58, pentavalent).

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Fluoride, Barium, Lead and 1 more
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

Certified for arsenic, nitrate, and fluoride (NSF/ANSI 58, pentavalent).

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Nitrate (as N), Fluoride, Lead
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

Frizzlife PD600-TAM3 Tankless RO with Alkaline Remineralization (600 GPD)

Manufacturer-reported reduction for arsenic, nitrate, and fluoride. Not NSF-certified for arsenic, nitrate, and fluoride.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedArsenic, Nitrate (as N), Fluoride, Barium and 1 more

Whole house

Installed where water enters the house. For fixtures, laundry and showers.

Nothing in this water calls for whole-house treatment. A drinking-water filter covers the exposure that matters. Whole-house units here are optional, mainly for taste and chlorine.

Softener or conditioner

Worth it at 7 grains per gallon or more.

Ranked first for this water salt softener · DIY

Whirlpool WHES40E 40,000 Grain Water Softener

Certified for barium (NSF/ANSI 44); manufacturer-reported for iron. Does not address arsenic.

DIY if you are comfortable with this install.

Certified forBarium
Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedIron

Questions about Star Sewer and Water District Water System

Is Star Sewer and Water District Water System tap water safe to drink?

Star Sewer and Water District Water System met every federal limit in the last 36 months, with no open health-based violation. 1 contaminant was at half the limit or higher: Arsenic. The results table shows each value against its limit. Results reflect the system's sampling points, not the plumbing in any one home.

Is Star Sewer and Water District Water System water hard?

Hardness has not been reported for Star Sewer and Water District Water System in a reviewed Consumer Confidence Report yet. The softener sizing widget uses a labelled county default until a report is reviewed.

Is Star Sewer and Water District Water System water fluoridated?

Fluoride was measured at up to 0.35 mg/L, below the 0.7 mg/L level used for community fluoridation, so it is naturally occurring rather than added. The federal limit (MCL) is 4 mg/L.

Where does Star Sewer and Water District Water System water come from?

Star Sewer and Water District Water System draws from 4 active wells with 3 treatment plants on record. Source and treatment details are listed above.

What filter fits Star Sewer and Water District Water System water?

For drinking water the matching engine ranks Brondell Circle RC100 Reverse Osmosis System first for this profile, based on certified reduction claims for the contaminants flagged above. See the filters section for the reasoning and alternatives.

Who to call

  • System contact: DAY, FLOYD (HANK), 208-286-7388
  • DEQ Boise Regional Office, 1445 N Orchard St, Boise ID 83706, (208) 373-0550
  • Central District Health (well testing, septic, local health questions)

Sources

Sample results as of 2026-09-08; inventory and violations from EPA SDWIS; page built 2026-09-14. 287 individual results reviewed.

More: Star water, Ada County, Arsenic

Numbers are the system's samples at its taps and wells, not yours. Lead and copper are 90th percentiles from sampled homes. Well pages are nearby-sample estimates. Health text restates EPA and DEQ. Methodology.