Tap and WellTreasure Valley water, from the public record

Idaho City Water Department water quality

1 contaminant above a federal limit. hardness not in the latest CCR.

ID4080025. Data through 2026-06-23. DEQ record.

What's in it

Arsenic

Above limit
34.2ppb of 10.0ppb federal limit

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.

52.1ppb of 80.0ppb federal limit

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.

10 other contaminants tested, not detected or well below the limit

Copper 0.46ppm Gross Alpha ND Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) 53.7ppb HFPO-DA (GenX) ND Lead 4.0ppb Nitrate (as N) 0.05ppm PFHxS ND PFNA ND Radium 226 + 228 0.76pCi/L Uranium 0.2ppb

Filters that match

Start with this

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

under sink ro · diy

  • Arsenicremoves it, NSF or WQA certified
  • Total Trihalomethanesremoves it, NSF or WQA certified
Detections ranked by share of the limitevery Tier 1 detection, highest first
34.2ppb of 10.0ppb
lab result 53.7ppb
3.4x
Above limit avg
52.1ppb of 80.0ppb
lab result 248.0ppb
65%
Elevated avg
26.2ppb of 60.0ppb
lab result 53.7ppb
44%
Detected avg
Copper 90th pct
0.30ppm of 1.30ppm
lab result 0.46ppm
23%
Detected 90th pct
Lead 90th pct
2.0ppb of 15.0ppb
lab result 4.0ppb
13%
Detected 90th pct
0.42pCi/L of 5.00pCi/L
lab result 0.76pCi/L
8%
Detected avg
0.05ppm of 10.00ppm
0%
Detected
0.1ppb of 30.0ppb
lab result 0.2ppb
0%
Detected avg

Bar length is the highest result in the last 36 months as a share of the federal limit (MCL, or action level for lead and copper). The dark tick marks the limit. Gross alpha is compared after subtracting uranium, as DEQ does for compliance.

Full contaminants reporthighest, latest, limit, trend, last sample
ContaminantHighest, 36 moFederal limitShare of limitStatusTrendLast sample
Arsenic53.7ppb
latest 37.0ppb
10.0ppb MCL3.4xAbove limit2024-11-22
Copper
90th percentile at home taps
note
0.46ppm
latest 0.30ppm
1.30ppm AL23%Detected2025-06-30
Gross AlphaND15.0pCi/L MCLNDNot detected2025-11-19
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)53.7ppb
latest 43.2ppb
60.0ppb MCL44%Detected2026-06-23
HFPO-DA (GenX)ND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2026-06-23
Lead
90th percentile at home taps
note
4.0ppb
latest 2.0ppb
15.0ppb AL13%Detected2025-06-30
Nitrate (as N)0.05ppm
latest 0.04ppm
10.00ppm MCL0%Detected2025-11-19
PFHxSND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2026-06-23
PFNAND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2024-08-29
Radium 226 + 2280.76pCi/L
latest 0.47pCi/L
5.00pCi/L MCL8%Detected2025-11-19
Total Trihalomethanes248.0ppb
latest 45.2ppb
80.0ppb MCL65%Elevated2026-06-23
Uranium0.2ppb30.0ppb MCL0%Detected2025-11-19
  • Copper: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.
  • Lead: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.

ppb = parts per billion (µg/L), ppm = parts per million (mg/L), ppt = parts per trillion. ND = not detected above the lab's reporting limit. MCL = federal maximum contaminant level; AL = action level for lead and copper (90th percentile of home taps); aesthetic = secondary standard for taste, odor or staining, not health. Bars show the highest result in 36 months as a share of the limit.

7 other regulated contaminants tested
Contaminant36 mo maxLimitStatusLast sample
AtrazineND3.0ppbNot detected2024-11-22
BenzeneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-11-22
CyanideND0.20ppmNot detected2024-09-26
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropaneND0.2ppbNot detected2024-11-22
TetrachloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-11-22
Sodium9.30ppmnoneDetected2025-11-19
TrichloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-11-22

Hardness

Hardness is not reported in the latest CCR. Hardness not reported for this system; softener sizing uses a regional default of 11.7 gpg until a CCR value is reviewed.

See also Idaho City water hardness.

Track record37 violations on record, 10 health-based
21 2017
1 2018
5 2019
3 2020
2021
2 2022
1 2023
2024
2025
2026

no violation recorded n monitoring or reporting only n includes a health-based violation ? outside the loaded record

Health-based violations

PeriodWhat happenedContaminantRuleStatus
2023-04-01 to 2023-04-30Treatment technique not met (Monthly turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2023-08-14
2022-05-01 to 2022-05-31Treatment technique not met (Monthly turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2022-08-01
2020-02-01 to 2020-02-29Treatment technique not met (Monthly turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2020-05-18
2019-04-01 to 2019-04-30Treatment technique not met (Single turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2019-05-31
2019-04-01 to 2019-04-30Treatment technique not met (Monthly turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2019-05-31
2019-03-01 to 2019-03-31Treatment technique not met (Treatment technique precursor removal)n/aGround Water Ruleresolved 2019-06-19
2019-03-01 to 2019-03-31Treatment technique not met (Single turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2019-05-31
2017-05-01 to 2017-05-31Treatment technique not met (Monthly turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2017-12-12
2017-04-01 to 2017-04-30Treatment technique not met (Monthly turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2017-12-12
2017-03-01 to 2017-03-31Treatment technique not met (Monthly turbidity exceedance)n/aLong Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Ruleresolved 2017-12-12
Monitoring and reporting violations (27)

A required sample or report was late or missing. These do not mean a contaminant was found, but a system that skips monitoring has gaps in its record.

YearRuleCountDetail
2022Inorganic Chemicals1Routine monitoring, major · Cyanide
2020Radionuclides2Routine monitoring, major · Radium 226 + 228
2019Long Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule1Operation under MCL
2018Long Term 2 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule1· E. coli
2017Synthetic Organic Chemicals1Routine monitoring, major
2017Surface Water Treatment Rule6Monitoring of treatment (SWTR)
2017Stage 2 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule1Monitoring and reporting (DBP) · Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
2017Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule4Monitoring and reporting (DBP) · Chlorine (residual)
2017Public Notification Rule1Public notice rule linked to violation
2017Long Term 2 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule1· E. coli
2017Long Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule3Operation under MCL
2017Lead and Copper Rule1 (1 open)Lead service line replacement (LCR)
2016Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule1Monitoring and reporting (DBP) · Chlorine (residual)
2016Revised Total Coliform Rule1Monitoring, routine (RTCR)
2014Lead and Copper Rule1 (1 open)Lead service line replacement (LCR)
2011Lead and Copper Rule1 (1 open)Lead service line replacement (LCR)
Lead and copper at the tap90th percentile of sampled homes against the action level
Lead at customer taps
2.0ppb 90th percentile · action level 15.0ppb
13%
Detected 10 homes sampled, 2025-01-01 to 2025-06-30
semiannual 90th percentiles

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Copper at customer taps
0.30ppm 90th percentile · action level 1.30ppm
23%
Detected 10 homes sampled, 2025-01-01 to 2025-06-30
semiannual 90th percentiles

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Where the water comes from0 active wells

0 active wells, 1 surface water intake, and 2 treatment points on record (SDWIS counts each chlorination or filtration point as a treatment plant).

ELK CREEK INTAKE: Susceptibility: ioc moderate, voc low, soc low, microbial high (auto).

Source water assessment susceptibility: final map[IOC:Moderate Microbials:Auto High SOC:Low VOC:Low]; hydrologic sensitivity ; pci land use map[IOC:M Microbials:M SOC:L VOC:L]; system construction L;

Every match, by categorytop three per category

We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. Rankings come from the matching engine (certification + flagged contaminants + annual cost), not from who pays more. How we earn money. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are not shown; Amazon sets them on its site.

Drinking water

Under sink, pitcher, or faucet. Treats the water you drink and cook with.

Ranked first for this water under sink ro · DIY

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

Certified for arsenic, total trihalomethanes, and nitrate (NSF/ANSI 58, pentavalent, NSF/ANSI 53); manufacturer-reported for uranium and radium 226 + 228.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Nitrate (as N), Total Trihalomethanes, Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) and 1 more
Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedUranium, Radium 226 + 228
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

Brondell Circle RC100 Reverse Osmosis System

Certified for arsenic, total trihalomethanes, and haloacetic acids (NSF/ANSI 58, pentavalent, NSF/ANSI 53).

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Total Trihalomethanes, Haloacetic Acids (HAA5), Radium 226 + 228 and 2 more
Also fits pitcher · DIY

Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher

Certified for total trihalomethanes, haloacetic acids, and lead (NSF/ANSI 53); manufacturer-reported for arsenic, uranium, and nitrate.

DIY. No plumbing.

Certified forTotal Trihalomethanes, Haloacetic Acids (HAA5), Lead
Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedArsenic, Uranium, Nitrate (as N), Radium 226 + 228

Whole house

Installed where water enters the house. For fixtures, laundry and showers.

Softener or conditioner

Worth it at 7 grains per gallon or more.

Questions about Idaho City Water Department

Is Idaho City Water Department tap water safe to drink?

In the last 36 months at least one result for Idaho City Water Department was above a federal limit: Arsenic. A single high sample is not always a violation because compliance is often judged on a running average; the violations section shows what EPA recorded. Results reflect the system's sampling points, not the plumbing in any one home.

Is Idaho City Water Department water hard?

Hardness has not been reported for Idaho City Water Department in a reviewed Consumer Confidence Report yet. The softener sizing widget uses a labelled county default until a report is reviewed.

Is Idaho City Water Department water fluoridated?

No fluoride result in the last 36 months.

Where does Idaho City Water Department water come from?

Idaho City Water Department draws from 0 active wells with 2 treatment plants on record. Source and treatment details are listed above.

What filter fits Idaho City Water Department water?

For drinking water the matching engine ranks Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum first for this profile, based on certified reduction claims for the contaminants flagged above. See the filters section for the reasoning and alternatives.

What was above the limit in Idaho City Water Department water?

Arsenic. Compare the value with the limit in the ranked chart and the full report above, and check the violations section for whether EPA recorded a violation.

Who to call

  • System contact: KEETON, NANCY, 208-392-4584
  • DEQ Boise Regional Office, 1445 N Orchard St, Boise ID 83706, (208) 373-0550
  • Central District Health (well testing, septic, local health questions)

Sources

Sample results as of 2026-06-23; inventory and violations from EPA SDWIS; page built 2026-09-14. 106 individual results reviewed.

More: Idaho City water, Boise County, Arsenic, Total Trihalomethanes

Numbers are the system's samples at its taps and wells, not yours. Lead and copper are 90th percentiles from sampled homes. Well pages are nearby-sample estimates. Health text restates EPA and DEQ. Methodology.