Tap and WellTreasure Valley water, from the public record

City of Glenns Ferry water quality

Met every federal limit. 2 contaminants at half a limit or higher. hardness not in the latest CCR.

ID4200022. Data through 2026-07-21. DEQ record.

What's in it

50.3ppb of 80.0ppb federal limit

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.

6.10ppm of 10.00ppm federal limit

EPA: infants below the age of six months who drink water containing nitrate in excess of the MCL could become seriously ill and, if untreated, may die.

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum is certified to reduce it.

11 other contaminants tested, not detected or well below the limit

Arsenic 2.3ppb Copper 0.01ppm Fluoride 0.65ppm Gross Alpha ND Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) 31.8ppb HFPO-DA (GenX) ND Lead ND PFHxS ND PFNA ND Radium 226 + 228 ND Uranium 3.0ppb

Filters that match

Start with this

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

under sink ro · diy

  • Nitrate (as N)removes it, NSF or WQA certified
  • Total Trihalomethanesremoves it, NSF or WQA certified
Whole house

Nothing in this water calls for whole-house treatment. A drinking-water filter covers the exposure that matters. Whole-house units here are optional, mainly for taste and chlorine.

Detections ranked by share of the limitevery Tier 1 detection, highest first
50.3ppb of 80.0ppb
lab result 66.0ppb
63%
Elevated avg
6.10ppm of 10.00ppm
61%
Elevated
14.6ppb of 60.0ppb
lab result 31.8ppb
24%
Detected avg
2.3ppb of 10.0ppb
23%
Detected avg
0.65ppm of 4.00ppm
16%
Detected avg
3.0ppb of 30.0ppb
10%
Detected avg
Copper 90th pct
0.01ppm of 1.30ppm
1%
Detected 90th pct

Bar length is the highest result in the last 36 months as a share of the federal limit (MCL, or action level for lead and copper). The dark tick marks the limit. Gross alpha is compared after subtracting uranium, as DEQ does for compliance.

Full contaminants reporthighest, latest, limit, trend, last sample
ContaminantHighest, 36 moFederal limitShare of limitStatusTrendLast sample
Arsenic2.3ppb10.0ppb MCL23%Detected2024-04-25
Copper
90th percentile at home taps
note
0.01ppm1.30ppm AL1%Detected2026-09-14
Fluoride0.65ppm4.00ppm MCL16%Detected2024-04-25
Gross AlphaND15.0pCi/L MCLNDNot detected2024-04-25
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)31.8ppb
latest 7.1ppb
60.0ppb MCL24%Detected2026-04-09
HFPO-DA (GenX)ND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2026-04-07
Lead
90th percentile at home taps
note
0.0ppb15.0ppb AL0%Not detected2026-09-14
Nitrate (as N)6.10ppm
latest 4.30ppm
10.00ppm MCL61%Elevated2026-07-21
PFHxSND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2026-04-07
PFNAND10.0ppt MCLNDNot detected2026-04-07
Radium 226 + 228ND5.00pCi/L MCLNDNot detected2024-04-25
Total Trihalomethanes66.0ppb
latest 40.0ppb
80.0ppb MCL63%Elevated2026-04-09
Uranium3.0ppb30.0ppb MCL10%Detected2024-04-25
  • Copper: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.
  • Lead: 90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing.

ppb = parts per billion (µg/L), ppm = parts per million (mg/L), ppt = parts per trillion. ND = not detected above the lab's reporting limit. MCL = federal maximum contaminant level; AL = action level for lead and copper (90th percentile of home taps); aesthetic = secondary standard for taste, odor or staining, not health. Bars show the highest result in 36 months as a share of the limit.

15 other regulated contaminants tested
Contaminant36 mo maxLimitStatusLast sample
AntimonyND6.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
AtrazineND3.0ppbNot detected2025-12-22
Barium0.04ppm2.00ppmDetected2024-04-25
BenzeneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
BerylliumND4.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
CadmiumND5.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
Chromium (total)ND0.10ppmNot detected2024-04-25
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropaneND0.2ppbNot detected2025-12-22
Mercury (inorganic)ND2.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
Nitrite (as N)ND1.00ppmNot detected2024-04-25
TetrachloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
SeleniumND50.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
Sodium484.00ppmnoneDetected2026-01-14
TrichloroethyleneND5.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25
ThalliumND2.0ppbNot detected2024-04-25

Hardness

Hardness is not reported in the latest CCR. Hardness not reported for this system; softener sizing uses a regional default of 11.7 gpg until a CCR value is reviewed.

See also Glenns Ferry water hardness.

Track record4 violations on record, 0 health-based
2017
1 2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2 2024
1 2025
2026

no violation recorded n monitoring or reporting only n includes a health-based violation ? outside the loaded record

No health-based violations (MCL, treatment technique, or disinfectant level) in the last ten years.

Monitoring and reporting violations (4)

A required sample or report was late or missing. These do not mean a contaminant was found, but a system that skips monitoring has gaps in its record.

YearRuleCountDetail
2025Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule1Monitoring and reporting (DBP) · Chlorine (residual)
2024Surface Water Treatment Rule1Monitoring of treatment (SWTR)
2024Long Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule1Operation under MCL
2018Lead and Copper Rule1Lead service line replacement (LCR)
Lead and copper at the tap90th percentile of sampled homes against the action level
Lead at customer taps
0.0ppb 90th percentile · action level 15.0ppb
0%
Not detected 10 homes sampled, 2024-01-01 to 2026-12-31

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Copper at customer taps
0.01ppm 90th percentile · action level 1.30ppm
1%
Detected 10 homes sampled, 2024-01-01 to 2026-12-31

90th percentile of samples taken at customer taps. Results depend on the home's plumbing. Results are from sampled homes in this system, not from your tap. Home plumbing can add lead and copper. First-draw samples run higher than flushed ones.

Where the water comes from0 active wells

0 active wells, 1 surface water intake, and 1 treatment point on record (SDWIS counts each chlorination or filtration point as a treatment plant).

INFILTRATION GALLERY (OLD TAG# A0018538): Susceptibility: ioc low, voc low, soc low, microbial high (auto).

Source water assessment susceptibility: final map[IOC:Low Microbials:Auto High SOC:Low VOC:Low]; hydrologic sensitivity ; pci land use map[IOC:L Microbials:L SOC:M VOC:M]; system construction L;

Every match, by categorytop three per category

We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. Rankings come from the matching engine (certification + flagged contaminants + annual cost), not from who pays more. How we earn money. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are not shown; Amazon sets them on its site.

Drinking water

Under sink, pitcher, or faucet. Treats the water you drink and cook with.

Ranked first for this water under sink ro · DIY

Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum

Certified for nitrate, total trihalomethanes, and arsenic (NSF/ANSI 58, NSF/ANSI 53, pentavalent); manufacturer-reported for uranium.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Nitrate (as N), Fluoride, Total Trihalomethanes and 1 more
Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedUranium
Also fits under sink ro · DIY

Brondell Circle RC100 Reverse Osmosis System

Certified for total trihalomethanes, arsenic, and fluoride (NSF/ANSI 53, NSF/ANSI 58, pentavalent). Does not address nitrate.

Plumber recommended if you are not comfortable with a drain saddle and a tank. Not a whole-house solution.

Certified forArsenic, Fluoride, Total Trihalomethanes, Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) and 2 more
Also fits pitcher · DIY

Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher

Certified for total trihalomethanes and haloacetic acids (NSF/ANSI 53); manufacturer-reported for nitrate, arsenic, and uranium.

DIY. No plumbing.

Certified forTotal Trihalomethanes, Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Manufacturer-reported, not certifiedArsenic, Uranium, Nitrate (as N), Fluoride

Whole house

Installed where water enters the house. For fixtures, laundry and showers.

Nothing in this water calls for whole-house treatment. A drinking-water filter covers the exposure that matters. Whole-house units here are optional, mainly for taste and chlorine.

Softener or conditioner

Worth it at 7 grains per gallon or more.

Questions about City of Glenns Ferry

Is City of Glenns Ferry tap water safe to drink?

City of Glenns Ferry met every federal limit in the last 36 months, with no open health-based violation. 2 contaminants were at half the limit or higher: Nitrate (as N) and Total Trihalomethanes. The results table shows each value against its limit. Results reflect the system's sampling points, not the plumbing in any one home.

Is City of Glenns Ferry water hard?

Hardness has not been reported for City of Glenns Ferry in a reviewed Consumer Confidence Report yet. The softener sizing widget uses a labelled county default until a report is reviewed.

Is City of Glenns Ferry water fluoridated?

Fluoride was measured at up to 0.65 mg/L in the last 36 months, in the range used for community fluoridation (0.7 mg/L). The federal limit (MCL) is 4 mg/L. Reverse osmosis is an optional preference if you want less fluoride.

Where does City of Glenns Ferry water come from?

City of Glenns Ferry draws from 0 active wells with 1 treatment plant on record. Source and treatment details are listed above.

What filter fits City of Glenns Ferry water?

For drinking water the matching engine ranks Aquasana OptimH2O Reverse Osmosis + Claryum first for this profile, based on certified reduction claims for the contaminants flagged above. See the filters section for the reasoning and alternatives.

Who to call

  • System contact: BYBEE, ALEXANDER, 208-598-2421
  • DEQ Boise Regional Office, 1445 N Orchard St, Boise ID 83706, (208) 373-0550
  • Central District Health (well testing, septic, local health questions)

Sources

Sample results as of 2026-07-21; inventory and violations from EPA SDWIS; page built 2026-09-14. 106 individual results reviewed.

More: Glenns Ferry water, Elmore County, Nitrate (as N), Total Trihalomethanes

Numbers are the system's samples at its taps and wells, not yours. Lead and copper are 90th percentiles from sampled homes. Well pages are nearby-sample estimates. Health text restates EPA and DEQ. Methodology.